European Youth Series 2009 at Ratho……This Weekend

This weekend (19th and 20th of September) the British Mountaineering Council and EICA:Ratho (Edinburgh International Climbing Arena) will host their first ever round of the European Youth Series (EYS). This exciting event will bring together top junior climbers from all over Europe to test their skills on EICA's new world class competition wall ? 'The Hanger'.Because Britain is the host nation, we are allowed a larger team than everyone else: we'll have 6 male and 6 female climbers in each category, whereas all other nations will be allowed 4. We don't actually have 36 Juniors on the British Climbing Team, so selection days took place earlier this year to highlight the best 36 young climbers in the country.The EYS comp at Ratho will challenge the young climbers over two testing qualifying rounds on the Saturday, followed by nail-biting finals on the Sunday. There will be trophies for the overall best three climbers, and material prizes for the best competitors in each category.Our young Brits would love your support, so please come down to EICA on the 19/20 September to cheer them on. It should be a fantastic weekend of competition. The EICA is a stunning arena, built against the back drop of a sheer quarry rock face amongst the rolling hills of Ratho, Edinburgh. It reopened in 2007 after a 6m refurbishment and is now prestigious as the world's largest indoor climbing arena.How to get there: Directions to EICA:Ratho (Edinburgh International Climbing Arena)The Junior Team Manager, Tony Powell has 'high hopes for the whole squad!'Britain's 36 Best Young Climbers:Juniors (age category 1990/1991)British Junior Team members: Natalie Berry, Michaela Tracy, James Garden, Robert Phillips, Robert MackenzieRatho: Holly Rees, Harriet Hall, Daniel WaltonYouth A (age category 1992/1993)British Junior Team members: Shauna Coxsey, Suzzanah Zitter, Rebecca Hall, Luke Tilley, Jonathan Stocking, Edward Hamer, Ross Kirkland, Paul Willliamson, Jonathan Field, Hannah Beresford (reserve)Ratho: Clara VergezAspirants: Jessica McCaskey, Ellen Macaskill, Sean Hopkins (reserve)Youth B (age category 1994/1995)British Junior Team member: Caitlin WallaceRatho: Charlotte Ellison, Charlotte Garden, Alistair Pow, Sam Branningan, Alasdair Johnstone, Steven Addison (reserve), Rhoslyn Frugtniet (reserve).Aspirants: Alice Waterhouse, Jaime Davidson, Lily Rosengard, Jonathan White, Ben Patterson, Edward Mowbray Diesen Artikel inkl. Bilder auf anschauen