British Nominations for Piolet D´Or

Two British teams have been nominated for the prestigious Piolet D´Or Mountaineering Prize – the mountaineers´ Oscar. Jules Cartwright and Rich Cross have been nominated for their new route on Ama Dablam, in Nepal, and Mick Fowler and Paul Ramsden have received a nomination for their new route on Siguniang, in China. America´s Dean Potter has been nominated for his three solo ascents of big wall routes on Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre in Patagonia. Joining them are Jean Christophe Lafaille and Alberto Innurategi (France and Basque) for their alpine style ascent and descent of the East ridge of Annapurna, Nepal. France is also represented in the nominations by Pierrick Keller, Benoit Chanal, François Dupety and Yann Bonneville for their new route on Huandroy South in the Cordillera Blanca, Perus.The final nomination is for the Swiss team of Hasler, Harvey et Schaeli for their two new routes on Awra Spire, in India. The winner of the award will be announced in Paris on the 5th of February