Climbing World Championships Roundup

The Climbing World Championships is a very prestigious bi-annual climbing competition that crowns the competition world champions in lead climbing, bouldering & speed categories. New for this championship was an overall award for the best climber in all 3 disciplines. This year the 2007 comp was held over 6 days in the northern Spanish city of Aviles with over 300 climbers representing 50 countries. Britain was represented in the lead competition by Adrian Baxter and Kate Mills while in the bouldering, on-form Gaz Parry, Dave Barrans, Audrey Seguy, Mark Croxall and Kate Mills took on some of the world´s best. In the end Gaz and Dave did fantastic to reach the men´s bouldering semi-finals but an incredibly strong field saw the Russian Dmitry Sharafutdinov win while Anna Stohr won the female final. In the lead climbing competition, the mens podium was dominated by the Spanish with Ramon Julian winning and Patxi Usobiaga taking 2nd. In the women´s Angela Eiter (AUT) and Muriel Sarkany (BEL) went to a superfinal (on the mens final route) with Angela taking the win. You can see the full results for all categories on the International Federation of Sport Climbing website and you can read a more detailed review of the British performances at the BMC website.