Arco Rock Legends 2011 awards for Adam Ondra and Ramon Julian Puigblanque

Adam Ondra of Czech Republic and Ramon Julian Puigblanque of Spain have been awarded during the Arco Rock Legends awarding ceremony, last night.

Adam Ondra und Ruth Oberrauch (SALEWA)The 18-year old Ondra received the Salewa Rock Award for climbs on crags, defeating competitors Chris Sharma and Sasha Digiulian of the US, Gabriele Moroni of Italy and Enzo Oddo of France. The motivation for the prize was as follows: “For his ability to continually raise the standards of sport climbing, exceeding himself and fuelling the dreams of all climbers.”

Ondra won the Salewa Rock Award for the third time, and was nominated also for the “La Sportiva Competition Award”, awarded to whom left his or her mark during last season's competitions, along with Korean Jain Kim and Spaniard Puigblanque.

Puigblanque eventually raised high the prize with the following motivation: “For the experience, strength, passion, genius and energy he displays in every competition.”

Puigblanque and Ondra stepped into the Arco Rock Legends Hall of Fame which already reads the names of Josune Bereziartu, Patxi Usobiaga, Chris Sharma, Angela Eiter, David Lama, Maja Vidmar, Kilian Fischhuber and Akiyo Noguchi.

The Arco Rock Legends ceremony, presented by radio and climbing journalist Kay Rush, celebrated the 25th anniversary of Rock Master. Yesterday's show relived the long and exciting history of the climbing event with the help of great champions of the past such as Francois Legrand, Yuji Hirayama, Luisa Iovane and Lynn Hill.

The four superclimbers received a special Aquafil prize, while another award was handed to 16-year old Andrea Rojas (ECU) and Amelia Metcalf (USA), the youngest athletes of the IFSC Climbing World Championship currently underway in Arco.

The world event continues today with the Female Lead semis and finals, and the Team Speed competitions.

QuelleMario Facchini, Foto: