The Piolet d´Or 2002 – British alpinists nominated

One of the most important international prizes in mountaineering, the Piolet d´Or is awarded on 5 February 2003 in Paris.Out of the six nominees, two of the teams are British.Julian Cartwright and Richard Cross have been nominated for their ascent of the NW ridge on Ama Dablam in autumn 2001.Mick Fowler and Paul Ramsden for their new route on the north face of Siguniang (6,250m) in China last April.Other nominees include Dean Potter (USA), for his solo link ups on Cerro Torre and Fitzroy, Jean Cristophe Lafaille (France) and Alberto Innurategi (Basque) for their audacious ascent of Annapurna via the south face and long east ridge, Pierrick Keller, Benoit Chanal, François Dupety et Yann Bonneville (France) who climbed the S face of Huandoy South (6,130m) in the Cordillera Blanca, Peru and the Swiss team of Hasler, Harvey et Schaeli for their route up the N face of Arwa Spire Central (6,193m) in the Garhwal, India (attempted by Brits Parnell, Cool, Powell and Wills in 2000).