Welsh Youth Final Results

More than 70 young people took part in the first ever all Wales Youth Indoor Climbing Championship (WYICCs) on Saturday 11th November. The event was held at the Welsh International Climbing Centre at the Taff Bargoed Centre in Trelewis in Mid Glamorgan, South Wales and was an overwhelming success. Based on the BMC´s hugely successful BRYCS series, one of the main aims is for competitors to enjoy themselves in an atmosphere that is competitive but at the same time friendly and fun. The WYICCs event certainly achieved this. The event was a pilot and will now be built into the BMC´s BRYCS (British Regional Youth Climbing Series) 2007 when the Cymru/Wales final will be held in North Wales. See here for more details. Also piloted was the inclusion of an extra age category for both boys and girls aged 16 & 17. This worked very well and the feeling from both competitors and volunteers was that this is something they would like to see included in next year´s BRYCS. BRYCS is the responsibility of the BMC´s Training and Youth Committee (TYC) and this is something they will now consider at their next meeting on 21st November – so watch this space on that one! Like all such events they couldn´t happen without the massive support of all those who selflessly volunteer their time, skills and effort. The BMC would like to thank all those who helped in any way – belayers, judges, scorers, staff, route-setter, parents, relatives and friends, drivers, Roy for supervising the warm-up – and a special thanks to Gary Lewis for coordinating the whole event, and to Linda Jensen (South Wales Area Youth Coordinator), Mark Dicken (North Wales Area Youth Coordinator), as well as Peter Cloke and Mark Alderson for all their support.Finally, special mention must also go to all the young people who took part for contributing to such a fantastic day Results Girls 7-9 1. Lena Meister 2. Rhiannon Fenn 3. Carrie Sparks Boys 7-9 1. James Cooper 2. Richard Marotta 3. Tom Arnold Girls 10-12 1. Rhoslyn Frugtniet 2. Francesca Lavric 3. Abigail Smith Boys 10-12 1=. Robin Cloke 1=. Fergus Greig 3. Tom Scuby Girls 13-15 1. Rosie Tabor 2. Bethan Frugtniet 3. Paige Phillips Boys 13-15 1. Tomos Davies 2. Charli Jones 3. Rhys Edwards Girls 16-17 1. Holly Rees 2. Kate Lynch 3. Hanna Leahy Boys 16-17 1. Liam Fyfe 2. Loan Doyle 3. Oliver Cain Source: BMC ———————————————————————– If you have any news worth reporting please contact Matt – matt@planetfear.com / 0114 2969114 ———————————————————————–